UK student visa

Sign up for free

expert consultation

Down Arrow

I accept the Terms & Conditions

Don't know what to do?

Get Free Counseling

Posted on September 17 2021

How to migrate from Singapore to Australia in 2022?

By  Editor
Updated March 26 2024

If you're considering relocating to Australia from Singapore, the country offers various subcategories of visas to applicants who meet specific qualifying requirements. Many immigration systems for the PR visa have been established by the Australian government in order to streamline the immigration process, filter immigrants, and ensure that only suitable applicants are granted visas.  Each immigration program has its own set of eligibility standards and selection criteria. In order to migrate to Australia, you can apply for a five-year Permanent Residency (PR) visa that allows you to work and live in the country. With a PR visa, you and your family can live anywhere in the country. After three years of living on a PR visa, you can apply for citizenship.


Points-based system

Australia uses a points-based system to determine the eligibility of immigration applicants. You must first meet the eligibility requirements, which include a score of 65 or above out of 100. The following table outlines the various score criteria:


Category  Maximum Points
Age (25-33 years) 30 points
English proficiency (8 bands) 20 points
Work Experience outside Australia (8-10 years) Work Experience in Australia (8-10 years) 15 points 20 points
Education (outside Australia) Doctorate degree 20 points
Niche skills such as Doctorate or master's degree in Australia 5 points
Study in a regional area Accredited in community language Professional year in a skilled program in Australia State sponsorship (190 visa) 5 points 5 points 5 points 5 points


Check your eligibility If you meet the eligibility requirements, then the next step in migrating to Australia is to apply for a visa. The country offers various migration programs under which there are many types of visas you can apply for, so you must first decide on what visa you will apply for.


Skilled Migration Program

f you are a skilled worker, you can apply for a visa through the General Skilled Migration (GSM) Program. To qualify for a visa under this program, you must fulfill the basic requirements for the GSM category. These requirements are:

  • Age must be under 45
  • Mentioned skill must feature in the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List of the government.
  • Assessment of skills by a designated assessing authority related to your nominated occupation
  • Possess good health which will be assessed by designated authorities
  • Have a good character which again will be assessed by relevant authorities

Having the right skills will have a positive impact on your success. If your application is successful because you have the right skills, then you can get a permanent residency which will extend to your spouse or partner and your dependent children. Australia regularly publishes a list of over 300 occupations in its occupation lists- Skilled Occupation List (SOL) Consolidated Skill Occupation List (CSOL) These lists give details of occupations where the country faces a skill shortage which prospective migrants can check and then apply for a visa. If you have the required skills for these occupations or are already working in an occupation in any of these lists, then you can apply under any one of the visas under the Skilled Migration program.

Skilled Independent visa (Subclass 189):  

The applications for this visa are by invitation only, for this you should:

  • Have Experience in a nominated occupation on Australia's Skilled Occupations List
  • Get a skill assessment report by a designated authority for that occupation
  • Submit an Expression of Interest
  • Be under 45 years
  • Meet general Skilled Migration basic requirements
  • Score at least 65 on the points test
  • Meet health and character requirements

Once you receive an invitation to apply for this visa, you must apply for a visa within 60 days.

Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190): You qualify for this visa if you are nominated by an Australian state or territory. The application requirements are similar except that you should have experience in a nominated occupation on the Skilled Occupations List.


Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Subclass 491 Visa: This visa has replaced the Subclass 489 Visa as a pathway to a PR visa. Under this visa skilled workers and their families must live, work and study in designated regional areas for 5 years. They will be eligible for a PR visa after three years. The eligibility requirements are the same as for other Skilled nomination programs. These visas under the Skilled migration program will lead to permanent residency in Australia after a few years of stay.


Other immigration streams to consider Employer Sponsored Migration  The program attempts to fill skill shortages in the Australian labor market by matching job openings to migrants with the necessary qualifications and experience.


Business Innovation and Investment Program  The Australian business visa program assists international entrepreneurs, top executives, and investors in establishing new or expanding existing firms in Australia. This may also be a means of obtaining permanent residence.


Distinguished talent visa

The Distinguished Talent visa is for people who have made a significant contribution through their profession to the arts or sports, or research or academic sectors. The visa is divided into two subclasses:  Subclass 858 and Subclass 124.


Family stream

If a close relative is an Australian citizen or permanent resident, you can migrate to Australia under the family stream. Spouses/partners, dependent children, parents of citizens and permanent residents of Australia are given priority in the family stream. It also allows other family members, such as elderly and dependent relatives, caregivers, and others, to relocate to Australia to be with their families.


Which stream should you choose to migrate to Australia?

Every year, the Australian government sets the migration planning levels and fixes a certain number of places under each migration program. Here is a table with details of places allotted to each migration program in 2020-2021:  


Skilled Stream category 2021-22 Planning Levels
Employer Sponsored (Employer Nomination Scheme) 22,000
Skilled Independent 6,500
State/Territory (Skilled Nominated permanent) 11,200
Regional (Skilled employer sponsored/skilled work regional) 11,200
Business Innovation and Investment Program 13,500
Global Talent Program 15,000
Distinguished Talent 200
Total 79,600
Family Stream Category 2021-22 Planning Levels
Partner 72,300
Parent 4,500
Other Family 500
Total 77,300
Child & Special Eligibility 3,100


  According to the immigration plan released by the Australian government, the highest number of places is allocated to the Skilled Stream category which has a total of 79,600 immigration places. You have better chances under this stream, provided you meet the eligibility requirements and score the required points. The stream you opt for is also dependent on the fact on how far you are able to meet the eligibility requirements. To choose the right stream which will help you to migrate from Singapore to Australia in 2022, take the help of an immigration consultant who will provide you with the right guidance.



Options for you by Y-Axis

phone 1

Get it on your mobile


Get News alerts

contact 1

Contact Y-Axis

Latest Article

Popular Post

Trending Article

spouse work on a dependent visa in Australia

Posted On July 12 2024

Can a spouse work on a dependent visa in Australia?