UK student visa

Sign up for free

expert consultation

I accept the Terms & Conditions

Don't know what to do?

Get Free Counseling

Posted on January 24 2023

What are the eligibility requirements for Australia Skilled visa in 2023?

By Editor
Updated April 27 2023

What are the eligibility requirements for Australia Skilled visa in 2023?

Australia has a Skilled Migration Program that allows foreign professionals to relocate to it. There are many opportunities in Australia for skilled workers from various disciplines, and the country uses its Skilled Migration Program to help bring foreigners to its shores.

Though there are various types of Australian skilled visas, the most popular ones are the Skilled Independent Visa (subclass 189), Skilled–Nominated (subclass 190) Visa, and Graduate Temporary (Subclass 485) Visa.

Subclass 189 visas

Subclass 189 visas are granted to people who have the necessary educational qualifications and adequate work experience in their industries or verticals. This visa was designed to fulfill skill shortages in Australia and eventually give holders of these visas Australian permanent residency (PR). Furthermore, those eligible for these visas are those who have an occupation that is present on the Skilled Occupation Lists (SOL).

This visa is issued only to applicants who receive an invitation from the Department of Home Affairs (DHA) after they have sent an Expression of Interest (EOI). While applying for this visa, the eligible individuals can be within or outside of Australia. Furthermore, skilled workers are also expected to get a minimum of 65 points on the skilled points of Australia.

The applicants for these visas should not be sponsored by an Australia-based employer or a family member. They must not have been nominated by a government of a state or a territory in Australia.

Holders of subclass 189 visas are allowed to work and live in Australia as PRs.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible Skilled Independent Visa (subclass 189), you need to meet the following requirements:

  • Have an occupation that is suitable for Australia
  • Have a suitable skills assessment for your occupation
  • You need to score at least 65 points
  • Be aged fewer than 45 when you get an invitation to apply
  • Have proficiency in English that meets the requirements of Australia
  • Receive an invitation to apply from the immigration authorities of Australia
  • Satisfy the health and character requirements
  • Submit an expression of interest (EOI) in SkillSelect

Applicants get more points if they are in the 25-35 age group, are highly proficient in English, have prior work experience in Australia or any other foreign nation other than their own, etc.

With this visa, you can stay in Australia as long as you want by working and studying there.

You will be eligible to enroll in Medicare, the healthcare scheme of Australia

You can sponsor a close relative for permanent residence

You can travel to and from Australia multiple times for five years

You can apply for Australian citizenship if you are found eligible.

Subclass 190 visas

The Subclass 190 visa is a state-nominated visa. If a state in Australia nominates you, you get that country’s skilled migration visa. To be eligible to be nominated for a state, your occupation must be listed in the Nominated Occupation list of that particular state. It should fulfill all the eligibility criteria of Australian state and federal governments.

This visa was designed for skilled immigrants having the skills and capabilities that are in demand in certain states of Australia. These aspirants, on the other hand, may or may not have the points necessary to qualify under the Skilled Migration program for a skilled independent visa. The advantage of applying for the Subclass 190 visa is that it is processed much more quickly than other visas.

The Subclass 190 visa focuses on skilled workers and business persons whom an Australian state or territory can nominate. This visa was also aimed with the intent to allow migrants who have occupations in demand in specific states of Australia.

With a state nomination, you are eligible for the following benefits.

  • You are visa is processed on a priority basis by the DHA
  • A 190 Skilled Nominated visa will add five extra points to your application in the DHA points test
  • You will get an opportunity to live and work in Australian cities, some of which are ranked as the most livable cities in the world

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nomination or sponsorship from a state or territory in Australia after submitting an EOI
  • Experience in a nominated occupation on a Skilled Occupations List of a state in Australia
  • Concluded skills assessment with a related assessing authority for the occupation you have selected
  • Should be in the age group 18-50 years
  • Satisfy the elementary requirements for Skilled Migration, including proficiency in English language, health, and character certificates
  • A score of at least 65 on the points test
  • Fulfilling requirements of health and character

Advantages of the Subclass 190 visa:

This is a permanent visa that allows you to stay indefinitely in Australia. But you can travel within and outside of Australia multiple times in the first five years when holding that visa.

Other advantages include the following:

  • Work, study, and live without restrictions in Australia
  • Stay indefinitely in Australia
  • Subscribe to the universal healthcare scheme of Australia
  • Apply for citizenship in Australia
  • Sponsor close relatives for Australian temporary or permanent visas

Obligations under the subclass visa 190 include residing for two years in the state or territory of Australia from which an immigrant gets nominated. The visa holder is allowed to apply for a switch in status after two years and can work and live anywhere in Australia.

Application phases for Subclass 190 Visa:

Phase 1: Confirm that your occupation is present on the Skilled Occupation list, evaluate if you have the minimum points required for the points-based test of Australia, and fulfill all the other eligibility criteria.

Phase 2: Submit your expression of interest (EOI) in SkillSelect.

Phase 3: Wait for an invitation to apply (ITA) to apply for a visa.

Phase 4: Gather the documents needed for an application.

Phase 5: Apply for a visa within 60 days of the receipt of the ITA.

Are you looking to migrate to Australia? Talk to Y-Axis, the world’s no. 1 overseas immigration consultant.

If you found this blog engaging, you may also like …


Eligibility criteria for Australia’s skilled visa in 2023, Who is eligible for skilled visa of Australia in 2023


Options for you by Y-Axis

phone 1

Get it on your mobile


Get News alerts

contact 1

Contact Y-Axis

Latest Article

Popular Post

Trending Article

Trending article image

Posted On November 29 2023

Dos and Donts of a Canada Study Permit in 2024