Site icon

Quick guide to Canada’s Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot

Announced on June 14, 2019 in a News Release, the Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot [RNIP] is an initiative by the Canadian government wherein 11 rural and northern communities have been chosen to participate in the new Pilot that involves inviting newcomers to “make these communities their forever homes”.

The RNIP Process Map:

Canada permanent residence through the RNIP

The RNIP creates a pathway to Canada PR for skilled foreign workers with the intention of working and living in any of the 11 communities that are a part of the Pilot.

A basic 4-step process for applying for Canada’s Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot [RNIP]

STEP 1: Meeting eligibility requirements that are –
  • Laid down by the IRCC
  • Community-specific
STEP 2: Finding an eligible job with an employer in a participating community
STEP 3: Once a job offer has been secured, submission of an application for a recommendation to the community
STEP 4: If community recommendation received, applying for Canada permanent residence

While the IRCC eligibility criteria for the RNIP is general and similarly applicable to all under the Pilot, each of the participating communities has their own individual requirements that have to be fulfilled as well.

A total of 11 communities from 5 Canadian provinces – Ontario, Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba – are participating in the RNIP.

Of these, 9 have started accepting applications for the RNIP.

Communities participating in the RNIP are:

Community Province Status
Brandon Manitoba Accepting applications
Claresholm Alberta Accepting applications
Altona/Rhineland Manitoba Accepting applications
Moose Jaw Saskatchewan To be launched
North Bay Ontario To be launched
Sault Ste. Marie Ontario Accepting applications
Sudbury Ontario Accepting applications
Thunder Bay Ontario Accepting applications
Timmins Ontario Accepting applications
Vernon British Columbia Accepting applications
West Kootenay British Columbia Accepting applications

Accounting for almost 30% of the national GDP, rural communities employ more than 4 million Canadians.

Removing the barriers to economic development along with the promotion of growth in local communities across the country is a priority for the Canadian Government.

The Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot is expected to support the economic development of these communities through testing new community-driven approaches for addressing their diverse labour market requirements.

If you are looking to Study, Work, Visit, Invest or Migrate to Canada, talk to Y-Axis, the World’s No.1 Immigration & Visa Company.

If you found this blog engaging, you may also like it…

2020 starts off as a big year for Express Entry

Exit mobile version