South Africa to Introduce 10-Year Visa for BRICS Nationals

South Africa 10-year Visa

South Africa, one of BRICS nations, will soon be introducing a 10-year visa for citizens of Brazil, Russia, India and China.  The South African Home Affairs Department has said in a statement that South Africa will soon start issuing 10-year visa to travellers coming from BRICS nations.

The new visa is for individuals with diplomatic passports and also for ordinary passport holders who visit South Africa for business or tourism purpose. People who apply for short-term visas can also obtain a 10-year multiple entry visa. The stay period for a single visit will be a maximum of 30 days. However, the immigration official at the port of entry will make a decision on the stay period depending upon the visitor’s requirements.

Intending travellers from India, China, Russia and Brazil must submit an application for a 10-year visa before travelling. Applications have to be submitted at consulates in their respective countries and get the visa at the entry port. However, Brazilian passport holders are exempted from visa for a 90-day business visit, but to obtain a long-term visa, they too have to apply it with the consulate in Brazil before travelling.

The move by South Africa is expected to improve trade and investments between BRICS nations and also perk up South African tourism. It will also facilitate easy entry for commercial visitors who wish to buy and sell products/services and at the same time invest and contribute to the country’s economy.

For more news and updates on immigration and visas, please subscribe to Y-Axis News

Pin It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *