Indian Gov’t extends e-visa facility to 150 countries

Indian Gov’t extends e-visa facility

Mr. Arun Jaitley, Finance Minister of the Indian Government delivered on his commitment made in the 2015-16 Budget Plan. The Home Ministry will provide e-tourist visa plan to 37 more countries beginning Friday.

The recently included nations are Austria, Albania, Botswana, Brunei, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Cape Verde, Comoros, Denmark, Eritrea, Ghana, Greece, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Iceland, Liberia, Lesotho, Madagascar, Moldova, Malawi, Namibia, Romania, Serbia, San Marino, Senegal, Slovakia, South Africa, Switzerland, Swaziland, Trinidad and Tobago, Tajikistan, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

According to an official from the Home Ministry, the collective number of nations that are allowed under the e-visa plan would increment to 150. Tourist visa on arrival (TVoA), empowered by Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA), prevalently known as e-Tourist Visa plan, was first introduced on November 27, 2014. Under the e-Tourist Visa facility, a candidate gets an email approving him or her to allow entry into India after an official endorsement and he or she can go with a print-out of this approval. On landing, the guest needs to display the approval to the movement powers that might then stamp the section into the nation.

Till now the plan had been stretched out to 113 nations at 16 Indian airport terminals assigned for giving e-Tourist visa administration. Following the dispatch of the plan more than 7.50 lakh visas have been issued under the plan. At present on any normal day, about 3,500 e-Tourist Visas are being allowed day by day to foreign nationals.

By authority gauge, amid January-November of 2015, an aggregate of 3,41,683 travelers touched base on e-Tourist Visa when contrasted with 24,963 amid the relating time of earlier year, enlisting a development of 1268.8%.

The UK represented 23.93 for every penny offer of benefiting e-Tourist Visa office amid November 2015, trailed by the US (16.33%), Russian Federation (8.17%), France (7.64%), Germany (5.60%) and Australia (4.82%). Canada had an offer of 4.71%, while that of China remained at 3.26%, Ukraine at 2.03% and the Netherlands at 1.75%.

For more news updates on visa options by the Indian Government, subscribe to our newsletter at

Pin It