Site icon

Certain DLIs in Canada reopen for international students

Study in Canada

Canadian schools are reopening for international students desirous to study abroad in Canada.

As per an official announcement by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada [IRCC], as of October 20, 2020, some of the designated learning institutions [DLIs] in Canada are “now able to reopen to international students” that are not already in Canada.

International students that will be accepted by such DLIs must either have, or been approved for, a Canadian study permit. They must also be travelling to the country for a “non-discretionary or non-optional purpose”.

DLIs with a COVID-19 readiness plan – approved by their province or territory – can reopen for international students that are not in Canada.

For an individual to come to Canada as an international student after October 20, 2020, their DLI must be on the list of approved DLIs with a COVID-19 readiness plan. The DLI must be on the approved list prior to the student travelling to Canada.

A valid study permit, or an approval for a study permit, will be required. In case a study permit is not available, a letter of introduction showing that the student had been approved for a study permit would be needed.

This will be applicable for all international students, irrespective of their country of nationality.

As per IRCC, the “change doesn’t affect study permit holders already in Canada”. If an international student is already in Canada, they can continue studying at any DLI.

If, however, they leave Canada, they might not be able to return unless their DLI is on the list of institutions with an approved COVID-19 readiness plan.

With the new change, an international student travelling to Canada would be regarded to be ‘essential’ [non-discretionary] travel, provided they have all the required documentation and their DLI is on the list.

The international student will be required to undergo a 14-day quarantine period as soon as they reach their final destination in Canada. On arrival, it will be assessed as to whether they have the time for completing their quarantine before physically attending classes, or they could study online during their quarantine.

To be able to enter Canada as an international student, the individual would require – [1] a valid study permit or a letter of introduction, [2] valid letter of acceptance from a DLI with a COVID-19 readiness plan, and [3] proof of having enough funds.

As per IRCC, “immediate family members may be able to come with you to Canada”. However, family members travelling to Canada with the student cannot travel to Canada before the student.

Only the DLIs with a COVID-19 readiness plan approved by their provincial or territorial government might reopen for international students.

If their DLI is not on the list, the student cannot travel to Canada for study overseas.

The list is subject to change and will be updated accordingly by IRCC. Any DLI no longer meeting the provincial or territorial health requirements will be removed from the list.

Post-Secondary DLIs with approved COVID-19 readiness plan [as on October 23, 2020]

Province Number of DLIs approved with COVID-19 readiness plan
Alberta 39
British Columbia 39
Manitoba 10
New Brunswick 13
Newfoundland and Labrador 3
Northwest Territories Post-secondary schools are not approved to reopen to international students at this time.
Nova Scotia Post-secondary schools are not approved to reopen to international students at this time.
Nunavut Post-secondary schools are not approved to reopen to international students at this time.
Ontario 14
Prince Edward Island 5
Quebec 427
Saskatchewan 7
Yukon 1

In case of a DLI with multiple campuses, all campuses within that province or territory are included.

All primary and secondary-school DLIs in Quebec are approved to reopen for international students. Similarly, all public as well as private primary and secondary schools are approved for reopening in British Columbia, Manitoba, Prince Edward Island, and New Brunswick.

As of now, primary and secondary-school DLIs remain closed to international students in various provinces. These are – Alberta, Ontario, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Nunavut, Northwest Territories, Saskatchewan, and Yukon.

If you are looking to Study, Work, Visit, Invest or Migrate Overseas, talk to Y-Axis, the World’s No. 1 Immigration & Visa Company.

If you found this blog engaging, you may also like…

Canada: Eligibility for PGWP not affected by online courses

Exit mobile version